Delaware HHA Requirements

delaware hha focus map
become a hha in delaware

How To Become a HHA in Delaware

Delaware does not require more than the minimum federal training standards to be employed as a home health aide (HHA) by a Medicare-certified home health agency.

Delaware HHA training programs need to be at least 75 hours; read the details below!

hha state training 75 hours

In order to receive your home health aide certificate in Delaware you need to follow the minimum [federal] home health aide education requirements.

Delaware HHA training programs must consist of:

  • at least seventy-five (75) hours of training
    • which needs to include at least sixteen (16) hours of clinical training
  • plus, there is a requirement to complete twelve (12) hours of continuing education for every twelve (12) months

The state of Delaware requires HHA’s undergo 12 hours of continuing education. In order to maintain their license and continue working as a home health aide without interruption for greater than two years they will have to take 75 more hours worth of training once it’s been exceeded.


Search for FREE HHA Training in Delaware

Best kept secret? Free HHA training is available in Delaware! The demand is great for home health aides and agencies are offering free training classes; below is an example – be working and making money as a HHA in just weeks!


Delaware HHA Resources

Here’s the health and safety statute (Title 16) that Delaware follows.